CAAUK presentation and paper online

Last weekend at CAAUK at the University of Birmingham I presented my paper titled ‘Facebooking the past: a critical social network analysis approach for archaeology’. The event was well organised by the people from the VISTA centre at Birmingham, and my paper was well received. You can download the slides and the paper from my bibliography page.

I already presented this particular paper twice, first at TAG in December and now at CAAUK. So for the following conference I will come up with something new. In fact, my first case study is almost ready to be submitted to your criticism! Wondering how I will apply all my theoretical musing about archaeological network approaches in practice? Well just keep checking this blog for news about my upcoming presentations at the University of Newcastle (May), University of Southampton (May), University of Leuven (June), Arts Humanities and Complex Networks at NetSci in Budapest (June) and Interface in London (July).

5 thoughts on “CAAUK presentation and paper online

Add yours

  1. Hi Tom,

    It would be interesting to see what could be done with information in a formal repository like ADS or opencontext.org … an undeveloped thought, I know!

  2. Hi Shawn,

    Funny you would raise this ’cause I had a similar idea recently and discussed it further with Steve Stead at CAAUK this weekend: how about using semantically mapped data available in repositories. I know there’s not alot of these available yet, but using data mapped to CIDOC-CRM allows for some cool opportunities.

    Most interestingly, it would help us tackle the main issue archaeologists seem to have with the framework I suggest here: identifying the individual. In CIDOC-CRM the actions and people are defined individually, and we could play around with aggregating data at different levels to “course-grain” our search for individuals. Steve suggested to do this with some sort of Monte Carlo simulation, in terms of saying “what if we consider this to represent an individual?” and asking that question 1000 times with different parameters.

    It would also make sense in terms of taking data aggregation into large and complex datasets using semantic technologies further to an analytical level for data exploration.

    Either way, I will play around with some CIDOC-CRM data to see if I can actually pursue this. Thoughts? Suggestions for a dataset?

  3. Interesting discussion. We’ve been trying to figure out what to do with CIDOC for a while. Mainly, I’m worried about its barriers to entry (it is really complex) and that the nature of the data we have in Open Context may be hard to map to CIDOC. Also assertions to the CIDOC ontology represents an act of interpretation (that should be contestable).

    We’re happy if someone else would offer mappings from Open Context to CIDOC, but I hesitate to do it myself.

    Best!
    -Eric

  4. I completely agree that CIDOC CRM is really complex, but the benefits are considerable. Open Context would definitely benefit from having its resources mapped onto it. I will have to experiment with my own data first however, but will let you know how I get on. If this turns out to be a critical way of formalising the extraction of relationships from massive database into networks, I’m sure some applications for Open Context could follow!

    Best
    Tom

  5. Hi Tom,

    That sounds great! I’d love help from a CIDOC expert on doing this kind of thing, since I’m sure I’d make a mess of it. Let’s keep in touch! I really want to encourage any sort of semantic enhancement to our collections.

    Best!
    -Eric

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

